U.S. Senator Chris Coons of Delaware

Stay Informed

Required Information

Manufacturing Jobs for America

The United States is ready for a manufacturing revival. Growing again after a decade of job losses and decreased production, America’s manufacturing sector has enormous potential to create new jobs and accelerate our economic recovery.

Workers in manufacturing jobs earn 22 percent more in annual pay and benefits than the average worker in other industries, according to the National Association of Manufacturers. Every new manufacturing job we create adds another 1.6 jobs to the local service economy, and for every dollar in manufacturing sales, another $1.34 is added to the economy. Investments in manufacturing have a stronger impact than investments in any other economic sector.

Manufacturing Jobs for America is an effort to rally bipartisan support for legislation that would help manufacturers grow and create jobs, refocusing Washington’s attention on the 11 million Americans still looking for work. The bills come from more than a dozen senators from around the country, and center on four general themes:

  • Strengthening America’s 21st Century Workforce
  • Opening Markets Abroad
  • Creating the Conditions Necessary for Growth
  • Expanding Access to Capital

There is no shortage of good ideas for helping revitalize America’s manufacturing sector — only the will to turn these ideas into law. Manufacturing Jobs for America is about giving these bills a chance to break through the political gridlock and make a difference in our economy.

The Policy Ideas

Strengthening America’s 21st Century Workforce

Expanding Access to Capital

Opening Markets Abroad

Creating the Conditions Necessary for Growth


Key Facts on Manufacturing in the States

The Senators

Chris Coons

U.S. Senator
Chris Coons
of Delaware

Debbie Stabenow U.S. Senator
Debbie Stabenow
of Michigan
Sherrod Brown U.S. Senator
Sherrod Brown
of Ohio
Tammy Baldwin U.S. Senator
Tammy Baldwin
of Wisconsin
Mark Begich U.S. Senator
Mark Begich
of Alaska
Richard Blumenthal U.S. Senator
Richard Blumenthal
of Connecticut
Ben Cardin U.S. Senator
Ben Cardin
of Maryland
Bob Casey U.S. Senator
Bob Casey
of Pennsylvania
Dick Durbin U.S. Senator
Dick Durbin
of Illinois
Joe Donnelly U.S. Senator
Joe Donnelly
of Indiana
Al Franken U.S. Senator
Al Franken
of Minnesota
Kirsten Gillibrand U.S. Senator
Kirsten Gillibrand
of New York
Kay Hagan U.S. Senator
Kay Hagan
of North Carolina
Tom Harkin U.S. Senator
Tom Harkin
of Iowa
Amy Klobuchar U.S. Senator
Amy Klobuchar
of Minnesota
Mary Landrieu U.S. Senator
Mary Landrieu
of Louisiana
Carl Levin U.S. Senator
Carl Levin
of Michigan
Ed Markey U.S. Senator
Ed Markey
of Massachusetts
Claire McCaskill U.S. Senator
Claire McCaskill
of Missouri
Jeff Merkley U.S. Senator
Jeff Merkley
of Oregon
Chris Murphy U.S. Senator
Chris Murphy
of Connecticut
Mark Pryor U.S. Senator
Mark Pryor
of Arkansas
Jack Reed U.S. Senator
Jack Reed
of Rhode Island
Brian Schatz U.S. Senator
Brian Schatz
of Hawaii
Jeanne Shaheen U.S. Senator
Jeanne Shaheen
of New Hampshire
Mark Warner U.S. Senator
Mark Warner
of Virginia
Untitled Document