WASHINGTON – This morning, U.S. Senators Chris Coons (D-Del.) and Tim Scott (R-S.C.) and U.S. Representatives Tom Suozzi (D-N.Y.) and John Moolenaar (R-Mich.) co-chaired the 69th annual National Prayer Breakfast. The event was virtual this year due to the COVID-19 pandemic. 

“For the last 69 years, the National Prayer Breakfast has brought together religious, political, and cultural leaders from all over the world in a celebration of spirituality and prayer,” said Senator Coons. “After a very divisive time in our nation’s history, it’s my hope that this year’s breakfast offers Americans of all faiths and backgrounds the strength and courage to unite as a nation and tackle the challenges we face together. I’m honored to co-chair this event with Senator Scott and Congressmen Suozzi and Moolenaar.”

“It’s an honor to co-chair this year’s National Prayer Breakfast with my friend, Senator Chris Coons, and Congressmen Suozzi and Moolenaar,” said Senator Scott. “While this year’s event may look a little different, we are still united in our shared belief that we are a stronger and more resilient nation because of our faith in God. And as scripture tells us, where two or three are gathered, the Lord is near. My prayer is that even in the midst of chaos and uncertainty, we can trust in the promise that better days are ahead.”

“During this time of division in our nation, the Prayer Breakfast reminds us to both love our neighbors and even the more challenging love our enemies,” said Representative Suozzi. “We need to come together and promote programs and policies that will advance the common good.”

“My hope is that this morning’s National Prayer Breakfast was a time of encouragement and friendship as we continued an annual tradition that began in 1952,” said Representative Moolenaar. “We are all created in the image of God and with mutual respect for one another we can work together to improve the lives of those we serve.”

Each year, more than 3,000 people attend the event, and every president since President Dwight Eisenhower in 1952 has participated. Ambassador Andrew Young was the keynote speaker at today’s event. Past speakers include Mother Theresa (1994), Bono (2006), Tony Blair (2009), Dr. Ben Carson (2013), Senate Chaplain Barry Black (2017), and Arthur Brooks (2020).

You can read more about the 2021 National Prayer Breakfast here: https://2021nationalprayerbreakfast.org